Research: Subject Starters

Our materials are organized according to the Library of Congress system. Look for these call numbers when browsing the stacks:

• Art: N, including NA for architecture and NC for drawing/illustration/design
• Music: M
• Photography: TR
• Arts & Crafts: TT

Sometimes Google is the answer! There is lots of useful information available on the open web - just do your best to chase info back to the original source, and look for reliable .gov and .edu sites, or content from large, industry-respected providers.

• Metropolitan Museum of Art: The Met makes portions of the collection,as well as rare and archival material available digitally. Try visiting other museum sites, too!
• Smithsonian Libraries: Many libraries, including the Smithsonian, make art & design resources available for online use.
• National Endowment for the Arts: When in doubt, look for .gov content on the open web - even for art & design topics!

PRO TIP: Don't forget all the amazing resources available in our community! The Portland Museum of Art has lots of low-cost or free options for students and their families. Check their site or ask the Library's Circulation Desk for details. And while you're out and about - don't forget to visit local libraries to access their collections and resources, too!

Our materials are organized according to the Library of Congress system. Look for these call numbers when browsing the stacks:

• Commerce: HF
• Economics: HB & HC
• Finance: HG
• Law: K, including KF for US Law

Sometimes Google is the answer! There is lots of useful information available on the open web - just do your best to chase info back to the original source, and look for reliable .gov and .edu sites, or content from large, industry-respected providers.

• Small Business Administration: .gov sites are a reliable way to use the open web. The SBA provides users with information and procedures on planning and starting a new business.
• Portland Regional Chamber of Commerce: A local chamber is a great way to make connections, learn about local initiatives, and access more training and education.
• Reuters Business & Finance: Business & finance move quickly! A syndication service like Reuters provides quick, centralized, and reliable access to breaking news. There are many other syndication services, like the AP, that may also be useful.

FRIENDLY ADVICE: Business is a VERY broad topic! While the resources provided here may be enough to get started, don't be afraid to include content for the type of business you are researching, whether it's culinary, health care, information technology, or anything in between.

Our materials are organized according to the Library of Congress system. Look for these call numbers when browsing the stacks:

• Education: L, including LB for theory & practice
• Psychology: BF
• Neuroscience & Psychiatry: RC
• Social Science: HQ, includes child development

Sometimes Google is the answer! There is lots of useful information available on the open web - just do your best to chase info back to the original source, and look for reliable .gov and .edu sites, or content from large, industry-respected providers.

• US Department of Education: The Dept. of Ed. is more than just financial aid info! You can search at the federal level for info on laws and policy, or you can search for state department pages, like Maine's, or local school department pages, like Portland's.
• National Education Association: Large professional organizations or unions, like the NEA, provide info on issues ranging from racial justice to education funding. You can also access content specific to early childhood education.
• Smithsonian for Educators: If you're ready to make the leap from theory to practice, many museums and institutions, like the Smithsonian, provide sample lesson plans and other educator resources to help you get started in the classroom.

FRIENDLY ADVICE: Education research often crosses lots of subject boundaries. Don't be afraid to use additional resources: look for funding info in economics databases, or child development info in psychology databases. You'll be surprised how many resources you can find!

Our materials are organized according to the Library of Congress system. Look for these call numbers when browsing the stacks:

• General Medicine: R
• Nursing: RT
• Internal Medicine: RC
• Surgery: RD
• Therapeutics/Pharmacology: RM

Sometimes Google is the answer! There is lots of useful information available on the open web - just do your best to chase info back to the original source, and look for reliable .gov and .edu sites, or content from large, industry-respected providers.

• National Library of Medicine: Connecting to the NLM lets users explore a variety of information sources, like PubMed's scholarly articles, Medline Plus's consumer health info, or the National Institute of Health's current research initiatives.
• American Medical Association: Connecting to professional organizations, like the AMA, is a great way to explore current research and trends in your area. Consider looking into specialized organizations too, like the American Nursing Association, the American Association of Medical Assistants, or the American Association for Respiratory Care.
• Food & Drug Administration: Like the NLM, the FDA is a .gov website that maintains a wealth of info not always available anywhere else. The FDA specializes in the safe development and use of food, medicines, and medical devices/equipment.

FRIENDLY ADVICE: Keeping up with research and navigating databases will be a big part of a career in health care. Grow your skill set by learning to navigate a variety of these resources now, especially those frequently used in healthcare settings, like CINAHL.

Our materials are organized according to the Library of Congress system. Look for these call numbers when browsing the stacks:

• Philosophy: B
• History: D (World History), E&F (History of the Americas)
• Anthropology: GN
• Literature: Organized alphabetically by the author's last name

Sometimes Google is the answer! There is lots of useful information available on the open web - just do your best to chase info back to the original source, and look for reliable .gov and .edu sites, or content from large, industry-respected providers.

• Smithsonian Libraries: Many libraries, including the Smithsonian, make humanities resources available for online use.
• The American Academy of Arts & Sciences: As an independent research center, the Academy is committed to multidisciplinary, nonpartisan research. Explore their site to learn about projects underway or browse their journal, Daedalus.
• National Endowment for the Humanities: This .gov site provides information about humanities work underway across the country. Digital access to Humanities Magazine is also available.

FRIENDLY ADVICE: Looking for visual or performing arts resources? Those areas have their own subject starter! Just scroll up this page to the "Arts & Design" starter. In fact, the humanities can overlap with many disciplines, so don't be afraid to explore resources like the "Social Sciences" subject starter, too.

Our materials are organized according to the Library of Congress system. Look for these call numbers when browsing the stacks:

• Biology: QH
• Microbiology: QR
• Environmental Science: GE
• Horticulture: SB

Sometimes Google is the answer! There is lots of useful information available on the open web - just do your best to chase info back to the original source, and look for reliable .gov and .edu sites, or content from large, industry-respected providers.

• Futurity: Futurity is a reliable gateway into current research and scholarly publishing. Access highly readable summaries of current research, most with links to the original studies.
• NASA: Global Climate Change: NASA is more than outer space! Users are presented with many environmental science resources, including access to Climate Resource Center.
• PLANTS Database: This USDA-maintained database provides taxonomic, geographic, and habitat information on plants that grow in the US.

FRIENDLY ADVICE: Head out into your local community to see the scientific advances being made in your back yard. The Gulf of Maine Research Institute or The Jackson Laboratory are great places to start.

Our materials are organized according to the Library of Congress system. Look for these call numbers when browsing the stacks:

• Science: Q, including QC for physics and QD for chemistry
• Computer Science & Software: QA
• Engineering: TA
• Motor Vehicles & Aeronautics: TL

Sometimes Google is the answer! There is lots of useful information available on the open web - just do your best to chase info back to the original source, and look for reliable .gov and .edu sites, or content from large, industry-respected providers.

• Futurity: Futurity is a reliable gateway into current research and scholarly publishing. Access highly readable summaries of current research, most with links to the original studies.
• National Science Foundation: .gov sites are reliable places to get info on the open web. The NSF provides news, research, and trends from a variety of disciplines, including computer science and engineering
• Scientific American: Scientific American is one of many popular magazines that discusses scientific trends and research in a casual way, and could inspire your next research project.

FRIENDLY ADVICE: Research and developments move fast, especially in technological fields. Ask your instructors about which professional organizations and publications in your chosen area are worth joining and/or following online.

Our materials are organized according to the Library of Congress system. Look for these call numbers when browsing the stacks:

• Political Science: J, including JK for US Political Science
• International Relations: JZ
• Law: K, including KF for US Constitution
• Social Sciences: H

Sometimes Google is the answer! There is lots of useful information available on the open web - just do your best to chase info back to the original source, and look for reliable .gov and .edu sites, or content from large, industry-respected providers.

• World Factbook: The CIA World Factbook is a reference resource produced by the Central Intelligence Agency with almanac-style information about the countries of the world.
• United Nations: The United Nations is an intergovernmental organization that aims to maintain international peace and security, develop friendly relations among nations, and achieve international cooperation.
• Pew Research Center: Pew is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. Pew is one of MANY DC-based "think tanks" you can explore in your research!

PRO TIP: Don't limit your IR research to the database options listed above! ProQuest offers several databases with content specific to different global regions. Try using: Australia & New Zealand, Continental Europe, East & Central Europe, East & South Asia, India, Latin America & Iberia, Middle East & Africa, Turkey, and UK & Ireland.

Our materials are organized according to the Library of Congress system. Look for these call numbers when browsing the stacks:

• Criminal Justice & Criminology: HV
• Emergency Medical Services: RA
• Fire Science (structural): TH
• Fire Science (forests): SD

Sometimes Google is the answer! There is lots of useful information available on the open web - just do your best to chase info back to the original source, and look for reliable .gov and .edu sites, or content from large, industry-respected providers.

• National Institute of Justice: One of several .gov agency sites worth exploring, the NIJ is dedicated to improving knowledge and understanding of crime and justice issues through science.
• National Fire Protection Association: The NFPA is an international nonprofit organization devoted to eliminating death, injury, property and economic loss due to fire, electrical and related hazards.
• PubChem: This .gov database provides a wealth of information on chemicals present in a variety of settings. These results are NOT official SDS or MSDS (you can get those from your employer/school), but they provide similar info.

FRIENDLY ADVICE: Serving your community means keeping up with your community. Get to know local newspapers and .gov sites to stay on top of issues impacting your neighborhood.

Our materials are organized according to the Library of Congress system. Look for these call numbers when browsing the stacks:

• Social Science: H, including HM for sociology
• Psychology: BF
• Anthropology: GN
• Political Science: J

Sometimes Google is the answer! There is lots of useful information available on the open web - just do your best to chase info back to the original source, and look for reliable .gov and .edu sites, or content from large, industry-respected providers.

• American Psychological Association: The APA does more than provide formatting rules. Explore the APA to learn more about current research and trends in the field of psychology.
• Pew Research Center: Pew is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. Pew is one of MANY DC-based "think tanks" you can explore in your research!
• National Science Foundation: The NSF has a division of social, behavioral, and economic sciences! This independent agency of the United States government that supports fundamental research and education in all the non-medical fields of science.

FRIENDLY ADVICE: "Social Science" is a broad family of subjects and topics, and may require your explorations to be broad - especially when you're just getting started. For example, we include history in humanities, economics in business, and political science in its own stand-alone subject starter.