Learning Commons: Library: Articles &amp; Databases

Quicksearch Popular Databases

For best results using widgets, make sure you are logged into SMCC with your @mainecc.edu address and your browser accepts cookies.

Use the ProQuest Central widget to perform a search of ALL topics covered in our ProQuest databases. Lock Icon: SMCC users only

Use the custom search button to limit your search to specific topics covered by our ProQuest databases.

Use the Academic Search Complete widget to perform a search of many topics covered in our EBSCO databases. Lock Icon: SMCC users only

Use the custom search button to limit your search to specific topics covered by our EBSCO databases.

MARVEL is now the Digital Maine Library! Click on the logo to jump to the Digital Maine Library and search databases provided by the State of Maine.

Reference Appointments

Research and Reference Help

Need a little help? Reference & research support from our Librarians is available! You can always email SMCCLibrary@mainecc.edu with general questions or appointment requests. You can also make an appointment for a 30 or 60 minute conference by accessing the schedules below.

Students with more flexible schedules are also welcome to drop in during regular business hours.

Request an Article

Did you find a great article, but it isn't full text? You can request a copy of the article by submitting a full citation of the article to SMCCLibrary@mainecc.edu.

What's in a full citation? Be sure to include:

Author
Title
Publication
Volume & Issue
Date
Pages

SMCC's article request services are available Monday-Friday, 8:00am-4:30pm. Evening and weekend requests will be addressed during regular operating hours.

Databases A to Z

Please be aware most databases in the A to Z list are for SMCC users only. SMCC login and password will be required for access outside the Learning Commons.

ABI/Inform Complete
Full-text journals, business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, and country/industry focused reports. International coverage gives a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Academic Search Ultimate
Coverage includes a wide range of subject areas offering thousands of international journals to provide global context to research, as well as videos to support and enhance the research experience.
Accounting, Tax, & Banking Collection
Global and scholarly journals with key resources for quick and precise results covering current news and topics, as well as the trends and history influencing important accounting and tax issues of the day.
Advanced Technologies & Aerospace
The Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database includes the renowned Aerospace Database and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
Agriculture Science
This database contains the leading agricultural journals published in North America. ProQuest Agriculture Journals offers the complete text as well as complete images from such journals as Agricultural Research, Forest Products Journal, Journal of Animal Science, Journal of Soil and Water Conservation and Plant Physiology.
Alt HealthWatch
Alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Applied Science & Technology Source
Providing access to 658 active full-text journals, from acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear engineering.
Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts
Literature covering all aspects of marine, brackish, and freshwater environments. International in scope. Updated quarterly. NOTE: This product is provided by the state library. You will need to login with your library barcode # (on the back of your SMCC ID) to access this product.
Arts & Humanities
Access to 400 contemporary specialist arts titles combined with journals from related fields including ethnic studies, women’s studies, cultural studies, and more. Titles include both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies.
ArtStor
An unparalleled range of images from some of the world’s leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. Artstor facilitates research and education in numerous disciplines, including art, architecture, religion, anthropology, fashion, world history, and more.
Asian & European Business Collection
This database provides information pertinent to the study of business and finance topics across Asia and Europe, including academic journals, newspapers, newswires, and magazines.
Associates Programs Source Plus
Associates Programs Source Plus is a database designed specifically for the research needs of two-year college students, including subjects like biotechnology, graphic arts, and criminal justice.
Australia & New Zealand
This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in Australia and New Zealand. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
AVON
Academic Video Online delivers over 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Biography Reference Source
Thousands of unique and reliable full-text biographies, including the complete full text of Biography and Biography Today - all searchable by subject occupation, activity, nationality, gender, birthplace and more.
Biological Science Database
This database provides access to a wide range of biology topics including some of the most popular information resources for users in academic, government and public research environments.
Board Vitals
Board Vitals from STAT!Ref is a high-quality, effective, and powerful board review tool that can be used anytime anywhere.
Business Market Research Collection (BMRC)
Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch, Barnes Reports and more.
Business Source Ultimate
Spanning various business topics, from current trends to historical information and global perspectives, researchers are provided with essential business journals such as Harvard Business Review and Fortune, plus business videos from top providers.
Business Video Database
Business Video Database features executive interviews, corporate training video, case studies, “how to” features and documentary films that focus on all aspects of the global business environment.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA)
This database, with 600 full text titles, is the most comprehensive Canadian reference collection available today. Accessible to readers and researchers at every level, CBCA Complete features a highly-respected, diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, dissertations, books, newspapers and magazines.
Canadian Newsstream
This database offers unparalleled access to the full text of over 190 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s.
Career & Technical Education Database
The definitive source for vocational information. The database includes nearly 600 titles, with more than 500 available in full text for quick access to research on virtually any technical topic.
CINAHL Ultimate
CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive full-text database for nursing and allied health research. Providing 1,815 active full-text journals, this database covers over 50 nursing specialties.
Communication Source
A complete full-text research database for communication studies, including topics such as media studies, linguistics, speech pathology, rhetoric, and discourse.
Computer Science Database
This database is a premium resource for those who need access to comprehensive coverage of computer topics. The database includes numerous titles, most of them in full text, allowing users to search records dating back to the early 1990's.
Congress.Gov
Congress.gov is the online database of United States Congress legislative information. Congress.gov is a joint project of the Library of Congress, the House, the Senate and the Government Publishing Office.
Consumer Health Database
This database includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.
Continental Europe
This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many European countries. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
Coronavirus Research Database
Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.
CQ Researcher
In-depth analysis on a wide range of political and social issues. CQ Researcher provides "a tool for selecting a topic to research and a comprehensive resource for exploring that topic."
Criminal Justice Database
ProQuest Criminal Justice is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, and crime reports.
CultureGrams
CultureGrams is a hidden gem - a sort of database within the ProQuest databases. Updated annually, CultureGrams is an insider's perspective on daily life and culture, including the history, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people.
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science
The Earth, Atmospheric, & Aquatic Science Database is an interdisciplinary resource of quality, curated A&I combined with full-text content from scholarly journals, trade journals, conference proceedings, and other sources.
East & Central Europe
This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in East European and Central European countries. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
East & South Asia
This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many East Asian and South Asian countries. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
EconLit
Economic literature including accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, and urban economics.
Education Journals
Access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education.
Engineering
Engineering related full-text articles on technological and engineering innovations going back to 1966. It provides titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
Engineering Source
Engineering Source is the premier database for professionals and researchers across all engineering disciplines, including biomedical, civil, electrical, mechanical, environmental and software.
English/Spanish Dictionary
English-Spanish resource includes a dictionary and glossary.
Entrepreneurial Studies Source
Covering the latest insights in entrepreneurship and small business ownership, students can use Entrepreneurial Studies Source for their entrepreneurial assignments or case studies ranging from solo projects to major entrepreneurial undertakings.
Environmental Science
The Environmental Science Database is a cross-disciplinary resource of full-text content of global literature across this field and related disciplines. It provides the most complete collection of resources available to support research and learning in environmental science and related fields.
Environment Complete
Coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine science, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, public policy, urban planning, and more.
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center)
Indexes and abstracts journal articles and documents on education research and practice, from 1966 to the present. Updated monthly.
European Views of the the Americas: 1493 to 1750
Archive of indexed publications related to the Americas and written in Europe before 1750. It includes thousands of valuable primary source records covering the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples.
Exploring Race in Society
Essential content covering important issues related to race in society today. A variety of reliable sources provide provide critical context for learning more about topics associated with race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness.
Films on Demand
Films On Demand is a streaming video service containing outstanding educational programs. Many programs from the History Channel, Biography Channel, BBC, PBS and other news channels are included in this collection. Films on Demand does not contain feature films.
Flipster
Flipster provides user-friendly, browsable access to popular magazines from a variety of publishers.
Food Science & Technology Abstracts (FSTA)
Over 500,000 references covering food science, food technology and human nutrition including basic food science and toxicology.
Food Science Source
An extensive full-text database designed to support the research needs of the food industry. Subjects include food processing, safety, service, shipping and innovation.
Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia
Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a wide variety of subjects. Searchable by subject or keywords within the entry.
Global Breaking Newswires
In the modern news world, newswires are the chief source of timely news and, with increasing pressures on the traditional news industry, newswires are often the only news coverage for many large regions of the globe. Global Breaking Newswires is the premier library news product providing timely access to the best newswire content available from around the globe.
GreenFile
GreenFILE provides information on all aspects of human impact to the environment, including such subjects as global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments.
Grove Music Online
More than 50,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works. Access includes companion resources including The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music.
Health & Medical Collection
This database offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
Healthcare Administration
The Healthcare Administration Database is designed for researchers studying the field of health administration. This high-demand healthcare management content provides the most reliable and relevant information on a wide range of topics, including hospitals, insurance, law, statistics, business management, personnel management, ethics, health economics, and public health administration.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Health topics including the medical sciences, psychology, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, health care law and general health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 540 scholarly full text journals and abstracts and indexing for over 570 journals.
History Now
Quarterly e-journal published by the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History. Current and past issues of History Now explore topics in American history through articles, essays, primary sources, videos, and more.
History Reference Center
Covering both U.S. and world history topics, History Reference Center is a full-text database featuring historical reference books, magazines, journals and thousands of primary source documents.
Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center
Full-text content for many of the most popular hobbies, crafts and recreation activities today. This database offers instructions and creative ideas for arts & crafts; collecting; games & electronics; model building; home & leisure; needlework; outdoors & nature; and scrapbooking & papercraft.
Home Improvement Source
Through a collection of comprehensive full-text content, this database provides detailed, user-friendly “how-to” information covering a variety of do-it-yourself home improvement and repair projects.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete
This full-text database covers all areas of hospitality and tourism, including hospitality law, market trends and hotel management. It also provides magazines, company and country reports, books, and newspapers.
Humanities Source Ultimate
This database covers all aspects of humanities, including art, archaeology, folklore, literature, religion, and more. Collections include a rich variety of peer-reviewed content and curated open access titles.
India
The India Database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in India. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, medical, science, technology, engineering, and social sciences.
International Newsstream
Provides the full text of more than 500 U.S. and international news sources. Includes The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Years of coverage vary by title.
JSTOR
Access current and archival journals, as well as primary source documents, through JSTOR's multi-disciplinary collection. The Artstor image collection can now be searched via the JSTOR interface, too!
Kanopy
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service with access to over 30,000 documentaries, indie films, and cinema classics. Watch from your desktop or download apps for mobile, Roku, and AppleTV.
Latin America & Iberia
The Latin America & Iberia Database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in Latin American countries. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, medical, social sciences, education, arts, anthropology, law, and humanities.
Legal Information Source
Designed to assist the public in understanding the complex world of law and legal matters of all kinds, this database includes exclusive full text for many top consumer legal reference books, as well as thousands of legal forms.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
Covers subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings, with coverage dating back to the mid-1960s.
Library Science
This database gives users full-text access to over 150 top publications in library and information science. It covers a range of titles and topics relevant to the theoretical and applied study of library science, including trade publications aimed at the library profession as well as scholarly journals.
Linguistics
The Linguistics Collection is comprised of index and full-text databases covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.
Literary Reference Plus
A complete collection of reference works across all genres and time periods. Thousands of poems, short stories, classic novels, plot summaries, critical analysis essays, literary journals, reference books and author biographies.
Literature
Gale Literary Sources brings together all of Gale's literary databases into one seamlessly cross-searchable research and study environment. Whether you're researching authors and their works, literary movements or genres, or trying to find book reviews of bestsellers, you can search across all of your library's Gale literary databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and a rich collection of expertly written work overviews.
Maine Memory Network
The Maine Memory Network, a project of the Maine Historical Society, provides access to thousands of historical items belonging to over 200 organizations from across Maine.
MasterFILE Premier
MasterFILE™ Premier contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains reference books, primary source documents, and an Image Collection.
Materials Science
The Materials Science & Engineering Database is a purpose built resource to meet the needs of professionals, students, faculty, and researchers. Featuring content from 1962 to present, the database supports materials science research, covering topics such as metals, polymers, ceramics, composites, and biomaterials and dealing with areas such as corrosion, molding and casting, treatment, recycling, testing, finishing, welding, and forming.
MEDLINE
National Library of Medicine index to more than 3,600 journals covering all areas of clinical and experimental medicine, nursing, dentistry and health administration.
Merriam Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary
Search medical terms and abbreviations with the most up-to-date and comprehensive medical dictionary from the reference experts at Merriam-Webster.
Merriam Webster's Unabridged Dictionary
Includes definitions for over 470,000 words and 140,000 word etymologies. Search options allow users to search for definitions, spellings, rhymes,rhymes, homophones, and authors quoted.
Middle East & Africa
The Middle East & Africa Database features ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in the countries of these regions. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
Military Database
This database covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering and more.
National Agricultural Library
Explore NAL content, including the Library's Catalog and Articles database (AGRICOLA), PubAg, the NAL Digital Collections (NALDC), and Special Collections materials.
Nature
Nature is an international, interdisciplinary weekly journal of science. It publishes peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality, importance, interdisciplinary interest, timeliness, accessibility, and other factors. Nature also provides interpretation of topical and coming trends affecting science, scientists and the wider public.
Newspaper Source Plus
Millions of articles from newspapers and newswires and offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
Newswires
Real-time access to world-wide news (30-day rolling archive) from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire.
New York Times (via ProQuest)
This is considered the official U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches and presidential press conferences. Digital coverage dates back to 1980.
New York Times: Student Pass
Login and create an account to receive access to the full NYT website with no pay walls. Returning users, please note: The first time you access the NYTimes with your @mainecc.edu address, you may be prompted to enter your individual login again. Do not create a new account! You can login with your existing (SMCC) credentials and then update your account to your @mainecc.edu address. Thank you!
Northeast Newsstream
Index to and full text coverage of Northeast regional papers, including five Maine newspapers. Database includes coverage of the Bangor Daily News and the Portland Press Herald.
Nursing & Allied Health Database
This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
This US Department of Labor resource includes information like job growth and pay scales for hundreds of different careers.
Oceanic Abstracts
Oceanic Abstracts is focused exclusively on worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment. The database focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics.
One Business
Developed in collaboration with faculty, students and business librarians, ProQuest One Business delivers a mix of practical and theoretical content. A business-focused interface intuitively guides users to content like journal articles, books, and
company, industry and country reports.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to violent video games. This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes.
Points of View Reference Source
Points of View Reference Source provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
Political Science
Access to over 450 leading political science and international relations journals. Political Science Database also includes thousands of recent, full-text, political science dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities and other sources such as country reports and policy papers.
Professional Development Collection
Professional Development Collection is a highly specialized database of full-text electronic information especially for educators, professional librarians and education researchers.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in PsycINFO. It offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
Psychology Database
This database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
Public Health Database
The Public Health Database is the ideal starting point for public health information for students, teachers, researchers, and professionals. It delivers core public health literature from thousands of publications, much of it in full text. Users can also access current newspaper articles to uncover the latest breaking news pertaining to public health.
Publicly Available Content
Designed to complement other databases and collections, this multidisciplinary database brings together links to full text for publicly available scholarly content from a number of different sources from around the world, all of which are open access or license-free. It includes content from major subject repositories such as arXiv as well as open access journals.
PubMed
PubMed Central (U.S. National Library of Medicine) is an archive of free full-text articles from selected biomedical journals. Content is accessed by keyword searching all journals or by browsing individual journals.
Regional Business News
Information provided by these sources covers business, political, economic and other diverse, international news events. This resource contains the most recent 30 days of information from each of these wire sources.
Religion
This database provides a wide range of primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought. Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations.
Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics.
Science
Science, also widely referred to as Science Magazine, is the peer-reviewed academic journal of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and one of the world's top academic journals.
Science Database
This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1030 titles, with more than 760 available in full text.
Science Reference Source
Science Reference Source provides full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, reference books and high-quality videos.
Small Business Source
Exclusive full text for many small business reference books, as well as tools to understand a wide variety of small business topics. The database includes business videos, case studies, help and advice, a start-up kit and tips for writing business plans.
Small Engine Repair Source
This reference database provides detailed, user-friendly repair guides for all manner of small engines, from motorcycles and ATVs to generators and outdoor power equipment.
Social Science Database
This database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
Sociology
Sociology Database gives users access to the full-text of more than 300 journals in sociology and social work. This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more.
Statista
One of the first statistic portals in the world to integrate data on over 80.000 topics from over 18.000 sources onto a single professional platform. Statista.com provides companies, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data from a variety of sources.
Teacher Reference Center
Indexing and abstracts for more than 270 periodicals. Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Administration, and Teacher Education.
Telecommunications Database
This database is an essential resource for anyone researching the industry or its technology. The database includes over 140 titles, with more than 115 available in full text. Search more than 600,000 records, dating back to the early 1990's.
Turkey
The Turkey Database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in Turkey. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, medical, social sciences, political science, and humanities.
U.K. & Ireland
The U.K. & Ireland Database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
U.S. Census - Explore Census Data
Population, housing, economic, and geographic information. The Census Bureau conducts nearly one hundred surveys and censuses every year.
U.S. Newsstream
U.S. Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries. U.S. Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.
Value Line Research Center for Academic Libraries
Publications cover stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks.
Vocational & Career Collection
Designed to meet a wide variety of vocational and technical research needs, this database provides full-text coverage for trade and industry-related periodicals for high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public.
Wall Street Journal (via ProQuest)
The preeminent publication for business news and information on financial markets worldwide. Full-text articles available from 1984 to present.
Washington Post (via ProQuest)
The Washington Post is well known for not only in-depth news and analysis of American politics but also insightful coverage of national and international trends and events. Comprehensive coverage back to 1987 is available.
World Factbook
The CIA's World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.

Why Databases?

Databases provide quick access to millions of individual articles drawn from thousands of different publications. If you need the most up-to-the-minute information on a topic, consider searching the databases for content in:

Newspapers. They will cover the most current information and provide users with both factual and opinion-based content.
Magazines. This is content created to entertain and informs the general reader - no subject area expertise required.
Trade Journals. Written for those with knowledge of the given field, trade journals are a great way to locate information on industry trends, professional organizations, and new products or techniques relevant to the field.
Academic Journals. These sources will include peer-reviewed articles regarding original scholarly research. They'll describe methodolgy and theory in a way most useful for scholars, professionals, and current students.