Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library: Media Content

Search for Multimedia Content

For best results using widgets, make sure you are logged into MySMCC and your browser accepts cookies.

Use the AVON widget to search streaming videos via the ProQuest interface. For a more visual search of AVON holdings, please click here. Lock Icon: SMCC users only

Streaming video that's more resourceful than YouTube! Documentary, archival, and instructional videos can be found here for a variety subject areas. Get started by accessing the FoD homepage here. Lock Icon: SMCC users only

Kanopy Button Kanopy provides access to a unique and compelling collection of streaming movies. Kanopy's collection includes everything from documentaries to blockbusters and indie films to cinematic classics. This service is also available via mobile, Roku, AppleTV, and more.

*Please note: you WILL need to login to Kanopy with a personal ID and password to view movies - just set one up with your SMCC email address!

Minerva Library Catalog logo Looking for films from the Library's DVD collection? Try the Minerva catalog. Enter a keyword or subject and see what resources are available locally or from other libraries in the state!

Reference Appointments

Research and Reference Help

 

Need a little help? Reference & research support from our Librarians is available! You can always email mlibrary@smccme.edu with general questions or appointment requests. You can also make an appointment for a 30 or 60 minute conference by accessing the schedules below.

Students with more flexible schedules are also welcome to drop in during regular business hours.

Online Reference Appointment Button South Portland Appointment Button
Midcoast Appointment Button

AudioBooks

Cloud Library Logo and Link Provided by the State of Maine, the Cloud Library offers eBooks and AudioBooks for download. Start browsing online or download the app for a variety of platforms. Now you're free to read or listen on the go!

Getting Started

Teaching Channel Videos

Teaching Channel's mission is to create an environment where teachers can watch, share, and learn new techniques to help every student grow. Students can complete classroom observations safely, and on their own schedules by watching video recordings of educators' classrooms from all over the country.

Still Image Collection

ArtStor Logo and LinkThe ArtStor Digital Library is home to thousands of still images that can aid research in a variety of disciplines. In addition to art and art history, ArtStor has collections to help with landscape architecture, anthropology, fashion, history, and more! Lock Icon: SMCC users only

Why Use Multimedia Sources?

Research doesn't have to be read! Most people get an essay or project assignment and head straight to the databases. Don't miss out on our collection of physical DVDs, CDs, and audiobooks - or our online audio and video options:

  • Download an audiobook or MP3 of an article and listen to your research.
  • Borrow a DVD from SMCC or another participating MINERVA library to learn about your topic.
  • Watch streaming video segments via Films on Demand to learn something new or find a clip that will make a presentation pop.
There are lots of ways to incorporate multimedia content into your essays and projects. Get started with the search widgets on this page, or ask a Librarian for help.