Skip to main content

Library: Library
Home

Hours - Summer Semester

South Portland Campus
Summer 2018
Monday - Friday 8:00am - 4:30pm
Saturday & Sunday closed
 
   
Midcoast Campus
Summer 2018
General LC Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:00am - 5:00pm
There will be no reference librarian during the summer semester.
Please contact the South Portland Campus Library for assistance.

LC Staff

For general questions, please use:
(207) 741-5521

 

Library Staff
Holly Gurney Headshot Holly Gurney
Director of the Learning Commons
HGurney@smccme.edu
(207) 741-5545
Carin Dunay Headshot Carin Dunay
Head of Access & Technical Services
CDunay@smccme.edu
(207) 741-5784
Meghan Hardison Headshot Meghan Hardison
Outreach & Instructional Services Librarian
MHardison@smccme.edu
(207) 741-5783
Joanne Langerman Headshot Joanne Langerman
Patron Services Librarian
JLangerman@smccme.edu
(207) 741-5818
Marc LeBourdais Headshot Marc LeBourdais
Reference Librarian - Evenings & Weekends
MLeBourdais@smccme.edu
(207) 741-5996
Derek Meader Headshot Derek Meader
Reference Librarian @ Midcoast Campus
DMeader@smccme.edu
Yourci Mulamba Headshot Yourci Mulamba
Evening Circulation Supervisor
Bryan Strniste Headshot Bryan Strniste
Reference & Instructional Services Librarian
BStrniste@smccme.edu
(207) 741-5785

South Portland's Circulation Desk

Library Circulation Desk Photo

Library Catalog Search

Enter your keywords:

 

Choose your source type(s):

*ctrl+click for multiple options

Policies and Procedures

Borrowing Books

Your SMCC ID card is your library card. ID cards are issued at the campus security office. You can use your ID to:

  • Borrow circulating books for three weeks (with the option to renew for three additional weeks).
  • Borrow current textbooks and other course reserves for same-day use within the LC area.
  • Borrow DVDs, CDs, and periodicals for one week (with the option to renew for one additional week).

Overdue Materials

No overdue fines will be charged for overdue materials. The one exception will be reserve material which will be charged $1 per day.

  • Students will receive an overdue notice via email 7 days after the material is due. The notice will say that if they do not return the material in the next week, they will be charged the retail price of the book plus a $10 processing fee.
  • 14 days after the material is due, a charge will be placed on the students' accounts for the retail cost of the book plus a $10 processing fee. If students return the book before the charge is placed on the account, no charges will be assessed.
  • If the students return the book after, they will be refunded everything except the $10 processing fee per item. Any outstanding fees may result in suspension of his/her student's library privileges and/or a hold placed on his/her college account.
Overdue notices are sent via email, as a courtesy.

Accessing Other Libraries

SMCC students, faculty and staff may also access resources from the following libraries using their SMCC ID:

  • South Portland Public Library
  • Maine College of Art
  • Saint Joseph's College
  • University of New England
  • University of Southern Maine
Borrowing privileges may vary are use of all resources are subject to the lending library's policies.

New Resources

We're getting new resources - from books, to DVDs, to Databases - all the time. Stop in and ask what's new, or look for new materials features across our website. Right now, we're testing two health science databases through a free trial. Give them a whirl, then send a note or stop by to tell us what you think - we may just add them to the collection. Lock Icon: SMCC users only

STAT!Ref is a cross-searchable collection of electronic resources for healthcare professionals.

BoardVitals from STAT!Ref is a high-quality, effective and powerful board review tool that can be used anytime anywhere.

About the Library

The Library is a student-friendly center for research, study, and casual reading resources. In addition to print books, journals, and DVDs, the Library offers 24/7 online access to the collections of libraries throughout the state of Maine, as well as a growing collection of electronic books, encyclopedias, journals, magazines, and newspapers. The Library is staffed by an expert team of professionals dedicated to empowering students to become independent learners who are proficient and comfortable with the use of library tools and resources. Students can get help by visiting the library, attending a workshop, or contacting us via phone or email.