Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SMCC Moving Instruction Online: Faculty Toolbox

Faculty Resource Toolbox

Faculty Resource Toolbox: This site has been stocked with resources to help you be successful in your online courses @ SMCC. Please take a moment to explore the resources that are available to all faculty @ SMCC.

Mobile Apps

Brightspace AppThe Brightspace Pulse app is designed especially for faculty to view content and participate in courses. The app is available on iOS and Android mobile devices.

Click here for iOS App. (iPhone/iPad)

Click here for the Android App.

 

SMCC Mobile AppThe SMCC app brings services to your fingertips and enables you to connect with the SMCC community. You can access events, calendars, contacts, maps, and more!

Click here for the SMCC App.

SMCC Academic Calendar

Click here for the SMCC Academic Calendar

Search for Multimedia Content

For best results using widgets, make sure you are logged into MySMCC and your browser accepts cookies.

Use the AVON widget to search streaming videos via the ProQuest interface. For a more visual search of AVON holdings, please click here. Lock Icon: SMCC users only

Streaming video that's more resourceful than YouTube! Documentary, archival, and instructional videos can be found here for a variety subject areas. Get started by accessing the FoD homepage here. Lock Icon: SMCC users only

Kanopy Button Kanopy provides access to a unique and compelling collection of streaming movies. Kanopy's collection includes everything from documentaries to blockbusters and indie films to cinematic classics. This service is also available via mobile, Roku, AppleTV, and more.

*Please note: you WILL need to login to Kanopy with a personal ID and password to view movies - just set one up with your SMCC email address!

Minerva Library Catalog logo Looking for films from the Library's DVD collection? Try the Minerva catalog. Enter a keyword or subject and see what resources are available locally or from other libraries in the state!

New Resource!

The Learning Commons is excited to be adding Academic Video Online (AVON) to our collection of multi-media resources. AVON is a comprehensive video subscription, delivering over 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. AVON's searchable transcripts, custom clip-making functionality, and on-demand audio described video options make integrating video content into classes a snap.

AVON is provided by Alexander Street, a ProQuest subsidiary company. For users, this means AVON can be searched through our larger ProQuest collection AND as a standalone product, through Alexander Street's unique user interface.

Learning Portals

Brightspace LogoAll online courses are in Brightspace. Brightspace is the Learning Management System for SMCC. Click here to access Brightspace

 

 

 

Click here to access MYSMCCSome face to face courses use the e-learning plaform in MySMCC to post class work and announcements. Click here to access MySMCC.

 

Click here to access school email. SMCC uses the Google Email suite for school email. All students and faculty use their school issued GMail account to communicate. Along with email, students have access to Google Drive, Calendar, Youtube and Hangouts. Click here to access SMCC GMail. 

All SMCC Online Systems use the same network ID and password. Click here for login instructions.

Is Brightspace Down? Or is it just me?

Click here to see if Brightspace is down!

Brightspace Browser Check

Click Here to Check your Browser for Brightspace Compatability

Web
Analytics

Free Software

Adobe Creative Cloud DownloadAdobe Creative Cloud is a set of applications and services from Adobe Systems that gives subscribers access to a collection of software used for graphic design, video editing, web development, photography, along with a set of mobile applications and also some optional cloud services. (Photoshop, Premiere, Illustrator, Dreamweaver, Acrobat Pro). Sign in with your normal SMCC email address and password and then you can go to Desktop Downloads and choose any piece of software to download. Click here to access Adobe Creative Cloud: https://accounts.adobe.com/

 

Zoom Logo Zoom is a real-time video conferencing tool that lets you add files, share applications, and use a virtual whiteboard to interact. You can request a Zoom account with IT. Click here to request a Zoom account. 

 

 

Click here to access Office 365SMCC offers the Microsoft Office Suite to all students and faculty. The Office Suite includes: Word, Powerpoint, Excel, and OneNote. Access these resources with your SMCC ID and password.  Click here to access Office 365.

 

Click here to download Firefox. The best web browser to use with Brightspace is Firefox. Firefox is a free and open-source web browser developed by Mozilla Foundation. Firefox is available for Windows, macOS and Linux operating systems. Click here to download Firefox.

 

Click here to download the Adobe PDF ReaderSome courses use PDF files. Your computer will need to be able to open PDF files. If you find your computer cannot open a PDF file, you will want to download and install the free Adobe PDF reader. Click here to download the Adobe PDF Reader.

 

Click here to access Google DriveGoogle Drive is a part of your school Gmail account. Google Drive allows you store files, create word, powerpoint and excel documents. It also allows you to share files with your classmates and instructors. Click here to access Google Drive.

Online Learning Twitter Feed